Key Takeaway

Oath Clear Whey Isolate is a whey protein isolate that has been processed to drink like juice instead of a milkshake. The label we read gives 20 g of protein per scoop of 29 to 30 g of powder, 110 calories, 0 g of added sugar, and 150 mg of sodium, in 18 servings for the 1.09 lb bag or 21 servings for the 1.3 lb bag. At the $39.99 listing price that is about 11 cents per gram of protein for the 18-serving bag and about 9.5 cents for the 21-serving bag. The label does not publish an amino acid profile or a leucine number, it lists citric and malic acid, and the listing does not show a third-party testing seal. The muscle research says protein intake and total daily protein matter, and that 20 g is about the dose that maximally stimulates muscle protein synthesis in young men after training, so one scoop is a reasonable unit.

Clear whey is protein for people who are tired of chalky milkshakes. It dissolves into something closer to a flavored sports drink, it is usually served cold, and it comes in flavors like lemonade and blue raspberry that would be strange in a creamy shake. That is a real usability win. It is also a marketing opportunity, because a product that tastes like juice invites you to treat it like juice, and the label questions that matter for any protein powder still apply: how much protein is in a serving, what else is in the scoop, and what does it cost per gram of protein.

This article is the foundation review of Oath Clear Whey Isolate. It covers the label, the protein evidence, the cost math, and the questions the label does not answer. For the broader background on protein types and how to compare them, we link to our existing guides instead of repeating them: the protein powder buyer's guide and the whey protein guide.

What You Are Buying

The details below come from two Amazon listings: Frosty Lemonade in the 1.09 lb bag (ASIN B0DHT1K42Y) and Icy Blue Razz in the 1.3 lb bag (ASIN B0DZL7HKF3), and from the nutrition panel images on the Frosty Lemonade listing. Both are sold by Oath Nutrition and the manufacturer field reads Trove Nutrition. We use these two listings as representatives of the line. Flavor and bag size change the serving count and sometimes the panel, so check the bag you receive.

Label Detail What the Listing States
ProductOath Nutrition Clear Whey Isolate Protein Powder; listing states 20 g complete protein per serving, no added sugar, grass-fed
Serving size1 scoop (the two panel images we viewed read 29 g and 30 g)
Servings per container18 for Frosty Lemonade (1.09 lb); 21 for Icy Blue Razz (1.3 lb)
Protein20 g (40% of the daily value)
Calories110
Fat, carbohydrate, sugar1 g total fat (1 g saturated); 3 g total carbohydrate; 1 g total sugars, 0 g added sugars; 0 g fiber
Sodium and cholesterol150 mg sodium (7% DV); less than 5 mg cholesterol
Ingredients (Frosty Lemonade)Whey protein isolate, natural flavors, citric acid, malic acid, coconut milk, coconut oil, tapioca maltodextrin; less than 0.5%: sucralose, acacia fiber, pink Himalayan salt, Reb M (stevia), monk fruit extract
AllergensContains milk and coconut
DirectionsShake, froth, or blend 1 scoop with 14 to 16 fl oz of water; add ice
Price on listings$39.99 for both the 18-serving and 21-serving bags
Price range across flavors$29.99 to $46.79

Two details deserve a note. First, the two panel images we viewed disagree slightly about scoop weight, 29 g on one and 30 g on the other, and list the ingredients in a slightly different order and detail. Both give 20 g of protein and 110 calories. Whether this reflects a reformulation between production runs or an error in one image, we cannot tell, and the bag you receive is the authority. Second, the ingredient line is not "whey and nothing else." It includes coconut milk, coconut oil, and tapioca maltodextrin, which the label presents in a short list but which are not a trivial part of the scoop when the scoop is only 20 g of protein in about 30 g of powder. The listing text we retrieved for the Icy Blue Razz flavor did not include an ingredient list and we did not view its panel, so we do not state its contents.

What "Clear" Whey Is, and What It Changes

The bag explains the product in two sentences. The "easy answer" is protein that tastes like fruit juice. The "nerdy answer" is that it is a whey protein isolate that has gone through a proprietary ultra-filtration process, changing the texture from thick and creamy to lightweight and juicy. That is the manufacturer's description of its own process, and we have no independent way to evaluate the details. What the label does establish is the starting material: whey protein isolate, which is the same category of ingredient as a regular isolate, from the same milk-derived family of proteins.

The consequences for you are mostly practical. Clear whey tends to be less filling than a creamy shake because it is thin, and it is typically drunk cold in a larger volume of water, 14 to 16 fl oz in this case. It does not carry the dairy-shake taste, which some people find easier to drink during or after hard training. Beyond texture, the question is whether the protein and amino acid content differ from a regular isolate. On the label, protein per serving is 20 g, and the differences from a regular isolate lie in the carrier ingredients and the acids that make it taste like juice, which we could check on the label, and in the amino acid profile, which we could not. Our whey protein guide has a section on concentrate versus isolate versus clear whey, and it is the right place for the general comparison.

Protein Per Serving, Per Gram of Powder, and Per Calorie

The label math is simple, and it is worth doing once. Twenty grams of protein in a 29 to 30 g scoop means the powder is about 67 to 69 percent protein by weight. That is a reasonable figure for a flavored product with acids, sweeteners, coconut-derived carriers, and salt. The rest of the scoop, about 9 to 10 g, is carbohydrate (3 g listed), fat (1 g), and the non-protein ingredients. At 110 calories per scoop, the product delivers about 5.5 calories per gram of protein, which is a useful number if you are cutting and tracking calories. Compare it with any other powder by dividing calories by protein grams.

Those figures are all from the panel, and none of them require trust in marketing. What you cannot get from the panel is the amino acid breakdown. The panel does not list the individual amino acids or the leucine content, and we did not find them in the listing text. That matters because the quality argument for whey rests on its amino acid profile, and we return to it below.

What the Protein Research Shows

The case for a protein supplement is straightforward and well supported, and it does not depend on any one brand. Morton and colleagues (2018) published a systematic review, meta-analysis, and meta-regression of 49 randomized trials with 1,863 participants and found that protein supplementation during resistance training of at least six weeks produced small but significant gains over placebo: 2.49 kg in one-repetition-maximum strength, 0.30 kg in fat-free mass, 310 square micrometers in muscle fiber cross-sectional area, and 7.2 square millimeters in mid-femur cross-sectional area. The effect on fat-free mass was larger in resistance-trained people and smaller with increasing age. Importantly, protein supplementation beyond total protein intakes of about 1.62 g per kilogram of body weight per day produced no further gains in fat-free mass.

Read that carefully, because it is the honest frame for any protein powder. The gains are real and small, and they come from reaching an adequate total intake, not from the powder itself. The ISSN position stand on protein (Jager and colleagues, 2017) concluded that an overall daily protein intake of 1.4 to 2.0 g per kilogram of body weight is sufficient for most exercising people to build and maintain muscle, with higher intakes of 2.3 to 3.1 g per kilogram potentially useful for retaining lean mass during calorie restriction in resistance-trained people. A scoop of protein powder is a convenient way to close the gap between what you eat and what you need. It is not necessary if you already hit your target from food. Our protein per day guide walks through the numbers, and our protein sources ranking compares powders with whole foods on cost and quality.

Is 20 g the Right Unit?

The label's 20 g per scoop is, conveniently, close to the dose that research has found to maximally stimulate muscle protein synthesis after training in young men. Moore and colleagues (2009) had six young men perform leg resistance exercise and then drink 0, 5, 10, 20, or 40 g of whole egg protein, measuring muscle protein synthesis over four hours. Synthesis showed a dose response and was maximally stimulated at 20 g. The authors concluded that 20 g of intact protein is sufficient to maximally stimulate muscle and albumin protein synthesis after resistance exercise, and that excess protein was oxidized.

There are two honest caveats. This was a study of six young men using egg protein, not whey, and it measured a short-term response, not growth over months. Older adults and larger people may need more per serving. For a lifter in the usual age range, 20 g per serving is a defensible unit, and it means one scoop of this product is a reasonable post-training dose, while two scoops is probably more than a single sitting needs. What matters for muscle over months is total daily intake, as the Morton analysis shows, and distributing it across meals is a secondary refinement. See our protein timing article for the evidence on timing.

Amino Acids and Leucine: What the Label Does Not Say

Leucine is the amino acid most associated with triggering muscle protein synthesis, and whey is a rich source of it, which is the basis of whey's reputation. Tang and colleagues (2009) compared whey hydrolysate, micellar casein, and soy protein isolate, each providing 10 g of essential amino acids, in 18 young men. Whey raised blood essential amino acids, branched-chain amino acids, and leucine more than casein or soy, and muscle protein synthesis after exercise was about 122 percent greater with whey than with casein and about 31 percent greater than with soy. The authors suggested the differences may relate to digestion speed or to small differences in leucine content. Note that the whey in that study was a hydrolysate, not an isolate, and the study measured an acute response in small groups of six.

The dose of leucine matters in other work. Churchward-Venne and colleagues (2014) tested 25 g of whey protein, which provided 3.0 g of leucine, against 6.25 g of whey and 6.25 g of whey supplemented with leucine. The 25 g whey dose and the leucine-fortified low dose both produced a larger synthesis response than the plain low dose. The relevance to this product is that the Oath panel does not say how much leucine is in a scoop. If the leucine fraction of this whey isolate were similar to the whey in that trial, 20 g of protein would supply roughly 2.4 g of leucine, but that is our proportional estimate and not a figure from the manufacturer. We do not know the real number, and you should not assume it. The point of mentioning the study is not to claim that this product matches it. It is that a label which omits the amino acid profile makes it impossible to check the one number that distinguishes one whey from another.

This is also where amino spiking comes in. Some products raise the label's protein figure with added free amino acids, which the panel does not make obvious. This product's ingredient list does not show free amino acids, which is a good sign, but the full comparison and how to catch spiking is covered in our buyer's guide.

Acidity: Citric and Malic Acid

Clear whey tastes like juice because it is acidified like juice. The ingredient list includes citric acid and malic acid, and the front of the bag compares the product to lemonade. The listing does not state a pH, and we did not find one for this product, so we cannot tell you how acidic it is. What we can say is that the acids are present, that the drink is thin, and that people tend to sip drinks like this over a long period, which is a different exposure pattern from a shake gulped in a few minutes.

The research on this is not about protein drinks. It is about sports drinks. Meurman and colleagues (1990) tested experimental and commercial sports drinks on bovine tooth enamel in the lab and found that the erosive effect increased markedly as pH fell, that drinks containing citric acid were more erosive than similar drinks containing malic acid, and that the 13 commercial sports drinks they examined all had a pH below 4.22. This was an in vitro study on animal enamel with beverages from 1990, so it does not tell you what happens to your teeth. It does show the mechanism, and it is a reason to treat a citric-acid protein drink like any acidic beverage: drink it in a reasonable window and not over several hours, and rinse with water afterward. That is a practical suggestion, not a clinical finding.

Cost Per Gram of Protein

The cost math is the part of a protein review that stays useful after the marketing fades. The formula is the price divided by the total grams of protein in the bag, which is servings times grams of protein per serving. For the two listings we retrieved, both at $39.99:

Bag Servings Total Protein Cost Per Serving Cost Per Gram of Protein
Frosty Lemonade, 1.09 lb, $39.9918360 gabout $2.22about $0.111
Icy Blue Razz, 1.3 lb, $39.9921420 gabout $1.90about $0.095

Because the price varies so much by flavor and by day, it is worth seeing what the range of prices does to the math. Prices run from $29.99 to $46.79 across flavors, so the table below shows the low end, the current listing price and the high end at both serving counts.

Price At 18 Servings (360 g protein) At 21 Servings (420 g protein)
$29.99 (low end)about $0.083 per gram; $1.67 per servingabout $0.071 per gram; $1.43 per serving
$39.99 (listing price)about $0.111 per gram; $2.22 per servingabout $0.095 per gram; $1.90 per serving
$46.79 (high end)about $0.130 per gram; $2.60 per servingabout $0.111 per gram; $2.23 per serving

So the cost of the protein in this product ranges from about 7 cents to about 13 cents per gram depending on price and bag size, and the same bag can differ by about 56 percent between the cheapest and the dearest price. For a clear whey, which is a specialty format, that is the figure to hold against a regular isolate or concentrate. We have not fetched prices for other protein powders for this review and so do not quote them. Our whey protein roundup compares products on a consistent cost basis.

Comparison Logic Against a Regular Isolate

Here is the framework we would use to decide between this and a regular whey isolate, using only things you can check on the labels.

The honest summary of the comparison is that clear whey costs you something in disclosure and carrier ingredients and gives you something in drinkability. Neither is a muscle-building advantage. If you tolerate a regular shake and enjoy it, the case for paying more for clear whey is about preference. If you find shakes hard to drink, a protein you actually drink is worth more than a better one you skip.

Safety, Allergens, and Tolerability

The label says the product contains milk and coconut, so it is not suitable for anyone with either allergy. It does not state its lactose content in the text we retrieved. Whey isolate generally contains less lactose than concentrate, but we have not verified that for this product, and if you are lactose intolerant, the label is the only authority. The sweetener system is sucralose, stevia (Reb M), and monk fruit, with 1 g of total sugar per serving and none added. The 150 mg of sodium per serving is 7 percent of the daily value and is not a concern for most people, though it adds up if you drink two scoops a day and watch your sodium. The bag says it is not for use by infants or children, and advises pregnant or nursing people to consult a healthcare professional. It also says it is not intended for weight loss, which is the manufacturer's phrasing.

For healthy adults, whey protein at ordinary doses is a food, and our whey protein guide has a section on safety and digestion. People with kidney disease should discuss protein intake with a physician. This article is educational and is not medical advice.

Quality and Third-Party Testing

The bag and listing make several claims: grass-fed whey, "developed by experts in sports nutrition," "made in the USA using globally-sourced ingredients and components," and no added sugar. None of the listing text or the two label images we viewed shows a third-party testing seal, such as a program that tests finished products for contaminants and banned substances, and the listing does not state that this product has been independently tested. "Grass-fed" is a sourcing claim that we cannot verify from a label. Our buyer's guide explains how to read third-party seals and what they do and do not cover. If you compete in a tested sport or simply want assurance that the protein content on the label is accurate, ask the company for a certificate of analysis for your lot, and look for a seal on the bag.

Who Should Buy It and Who Should Skip It

It makes sense if you do not like thick protein shakes, you want to hit a daily protein target with a drink you will actually finish, you are comfortable with coconut and the acids and sweeteners on the label, and the price per gram is acceptable to you. Twenty grams per scoop is a sensible dose.

Skip it if you are allergic to milk or coconut, you are cost-driven and the cheapest protein per gram is the goal, you want a fully disclosed amino acid profile, or you sip drinks slowly all day and are worried about acidic beverages. And remember that none of this beats eating enough total protein from food. See our protein sources ranking for the cost and quality of whole foods.

What Buyers Report

Buyer comments on retailer review pages are mostly positive, with the product rated about 4.6 out of 5 across several hundred ratings on one large retailer's page. The same themes come up again and again.

The takeaway: buyers like how drinkable it is and often dislike the mixing and the price. These are anecdotal reports and say nothing about protein quality or testing, which is covered above.

How HonestLifter Is Reviewing This Product

HonestLifter's editorial model is longitudinal. A one-time first-impressions post tells you very little about a supplement, so the plan for each product is a written research review at the start, followed by dated checkpoint updates at 30 days, 60 days, 90 days, 6 months, and 12 months of use. The checkpoint updates are meant to report real use, real notes, and, where available, real data exports, not recycled research. You can read more in our longitudinal review program article.

This is a research review built on the manufacturer's label, the Amazon listings and published studies. Our own notes will be added as dated checkpoint updates on the schedule below, measured from the first day of use.

Checkpoint Due Status
30 day30 days after first useCombined note published
60 day60 days after first useCombined note published
90 day90 days after first useCombined note published
6 month6 months after first useCombined note published
12 month12 months after first useUpcoming

Checkpoint sections will be added as our own notes are written, each dated when written.

Checkpoint Update: 30-Day, 60-Day, 90-Day and 6-Month Notes (October 2026)

HonestLifter's owner reports the following from regular use. These are personal notes, not measurements.

Several supplements are taken together, so none of these notes isolates the effect of this product. The 12-month update will be added when it is written.

The Bottom Line

Oath Clear Whey Isolate does what it says on the label: it delivers 20 g of whey protein isolate per scoop in a drink that behaves like juice, at 110 calories and no added sugar. The protein evidence supports using a powder like this to reach a daily intake of roughly 1.4 to 2.0 g per kilogram, and 20 g is close to the dose that maximally stimulates muscle protein synthesis after training in young men. The weaknesses are on the disclosure and cost side: no amino acid or leucine numbers, carrier ingredients from coconut and tapioca, acids that deserve a sensible drinking pattern, no visible third-party seal, and a price of roughly 7 to 13 cents per gram of protein depending on the bag and the day.

Buy it for the drinkability and the 20 g. Do not buy it expecting a muscle-building edge over a regular whey, and compare it on cost per gram of protein before you pay a premium. Watch this page for our dated checkpoint updates.

References

  1. Morton, R.W., Murphy, K.T., McKellar, S.R., Schoenfeld, B.J., Henselmans, M., Helms, E., et al. (2018). A systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression of the effect of protein supplementation on resistance training-induced gains in muscle mass and strength in healthy adults. British Journal of Sports Medicine, 52(6), 376-384. doi:10.1136/bjsports-2017-097608. PMID 28698222.
  2. Jager, R., Kerksick, C.M., Campbell, B.I., Cribb, P.J., Wells, S.D., Skwiat, T.M., et al. (2017). International society of sports nutrition position stand: protein and exercise. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 14, 20. doi:10.1186/s12970-017-0177-8. PMID 28642676.
  3. Moore, D.R., Robinson, M.J., Fry, J.L., Tang, J.E., Glover, E.I., Wilkinson, S.B., et al. (2009). Ingested protein dose response of muscle and albumin protein synthesis after resistance exercise in young men. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 89(1), 161-168. doi:10.3945/ajcn.2008.26401. PMID 19056590.
  4. Tang, J.E., Moore, D.R., Kujbida, G.W., Tarnopolsky, M.A., & Phillips, S.M. (2009). Ingestion of whey hydrolysate, casein, or soy protein isolate: effects on mixed muscle protein synthesis at rest and following resistance exercise in young men. Journal of Applied Physiology, 107(3), 987-992. doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.00076.2009. PMID 19589961.
  5. Churchward-Venne, T.A., Breen, L., Di Donato, D.M., Hector, A.J., Mitchell, C.J., Moore, D.R., et al. (2014). Leucine supplementation of a low-protein mixed macronutrient beverage enhances myofibrillar protein synthesis in young men: a double-blind, randomized trial. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 99(2), 276-286. doi:10.3945/ajcn.113.068775. PMID 24284442.
  6. Meurman, J.H., Harkonen, M., Naveri, H., Koskinen, J., Torkko, H., Rytomaa, I., et al. (1990). Experimental sports drinks with minimal dental erosion effect. Scandinavian Journal of Dental Research, 98(2), 120-128. doi:10.1111/j.1600-0722.1990.tb00950.x. PMID 2343273.

Product details were taken from the Amazon listings for Oath Clear Whey Isolate (Frosty Lemonade and Icy Blue Razz) and may change. HonestLifter carries no affiliate links. This article is educational and is not medical advice.